Board of Directors

Board Meeting - November 10, 2022

The TVA Board of Directors invites the public to join them as they conduct their quarterly business meeting at The Mill Conference Center, 600 Russell Street Starkville, Miss., on Thursday, Nov. 10, at 9 a.m. CT.

A public listening session will be held on Wednesday, Nov. 9, from 2 p.m. until 4 p.m. CT in the Ballroom at the Mill Conference Center.

Individuals may participate in the listening session by either registering to speak in person or submitting written comments in advance. Registration of speakers and submission of written comments must be made online no later than noon ET on Tuesday, Nov. 8. Individuals without computer access may also register to speak or arrange to submit written comments by contacting Wilson Taylor, TVA’s ombudsman, at 865-776-7015.

At its meeting on Nov. 10, the Board will discuss the following topics:

  1. Approval of minutes of the August 31, 2022 Board Meeting
  2. Report of the Operations and Nuclear Oversight Committee
    1. Pilot Solar Project at Shawnee Fossil Plant
  3. Report of the Audit, Finance, Risk, and Cybersecurity Committee
  4. Report of the People and Governance Committee
    1. FY22 and FY23 Performance and Compensation
  5. Report of the External Stakeholders and Regulation Committee
  6. Report from President and CEO


Public Comments Summary

Streaming Video

TVA Board Approves Pilot Project to Build Solar Facility at Shawnee Fossil Site

Board Members

Board members are nominated by the President of the United States and confirmed by the Senate, and each serves a term of five years. The proceedings of Board meetings are open to the public. When their terms expire, directors may remain on the board until the end of the current congressional session (typically in December) or until their successors take office, whichever comes first.

Bill Killbride

Chair - Bill Kilbride of Chattanooga, Tennessee, served as President/CEO of the Chattanooga Area Chamber of Commerce from 2014 to 2017. Previously, he served as president of the Home Division and Chief Sustainability Officer for Mohawk Industries in Calhoun, Georgia, for more than 20 years. He currently serves on the board of several nonprofit and for-profit Chattanooga-based organizations. His term expires on May 18, 2023.

Beth Geer

Beth Geer of Brentwood, Tennessee, serves as the chief of staff for former Vice President Al Gore and participated in the Nashville Sustainability Advisory Committee. She applied her policy experience in climate change and environmental justice to previous positions in the Clinton-Gore White House, the U.S. Department of Labor, and the U.S. Senate. Her term expires on May 18, 2026.

Beth Harwell

Beth Harwell of Nashville, Tennessee, was the speaker of the Tennessee House of Representatives for seven years while serving as the 56th District state representative for nearly 30 years. Previously, she chaired the Tennessee Republican Party and served as an assistant professor of political science at Belmont University, as well as in a variety of additional roles in both education and public service. Her term expires on May 18, 2024.

Bobby Klein

Bobby Klein of Chattanooga, Tennessee, served as a vice president of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers after a decades-long career as a lineman and foreman with the Electric Power Board of Chattanooga. He also served 14 years as president of the Tennessee Valley Trades and Labor Council, as well as on the TVA Labor-Management Committee. His term expires on May 18, 2026.

Michelle Moore

Michelle Moore of Midlothian, Virginia, is the author of “Rural Renaissance” and CEO of Groundswell, a nonprofit that builds community power to reduce energy burdens and expand economic opportunity. From her roots in rural Georgia, Michelle has worked to connect clean energy with affordability and quality of life for more than 25 years, including leading federal sustainability and infrastructure project delivery for the Obama White House. Her term expires on May 18, 2026.

Brain Noland

Brian Noland of Johnson City, Tennessee, joined East Tennessee State University as its ninth president in 2012 after previously serving as the chancellor of the West Virginia Higher Education System. In 2018, he was elected to the board of the American Council on Education and also serves on the boards of a number of other educational and civic organizations, as well as an Institute of Higher Education fellow at the University of Georgia. His term expires on May 18, 2024.

Bill Renick

Bill Renick of Ashland, Mississippi, is the chair of the Commission on the Future of Northeast Mississippi and previously served 13 years as the Workforce Division Director at Three Rivers Planning and Development District. A longtime public servant, Renick has served in multiple local and state elected and appointed positions. His term expires on May 18, 2027.

Joe Ritch

Joe Ritch of Huntsville, Alabama, practices law with the firm of Dentons Sirote, PC, in Huntsville. He also serves as chairman of the Redstone Regional Alliance and remains active in the community. He has received numerous business and community awards and was inducted into the Alabama Business Hall of Fame in 2021. A previous TVA Board Chair, his term expires on May 18, 2025.

Wade White

Wade White of Eddyville, Kentucky, completed his 12th year as Lyon County Judge Executive and is now employed with Farmers Bank and Trust Co. of Princeton and Eddyville in business development and public relations. He is the recipient of multiple awards. An avid supporter of recreational fishing, he led initial efforts to raise awareness about the invasive Asian carp species that threatens the Tennessee and Cumberland rivers and was inducted into the Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame in 2016.  His term expires on May 18, 2027.